Collegiate golf fixtures confirmed for 2018

​Collegiate fixtures include four Students' Championships and the nine-hole match play team sprint which​

  • 15 November 2017

Picture: Tralee will host the Irish Students Amateur Open Championship in April

The GUI and ILGU are pleased to release Collegiate fixtures for 2018. These include, as in 2017, four Students' Championships over 54 holes each, and the nine-hole match play team sprint which will once again be played at Woodbrook Golf Club.

An additional event has also been added for 2018 - the Irish Students Sixes - which will be a six-hole round-robin pairs match play championship played over two days (and a possible seven rounds, or 42 holes, in total) on 1-2 February in The Heath. Pairs may enter this event in any combination (male or female) - and there is no limit on the number of pairs that may enter from one institution - on the condition that at least two pairs from each institution will be admitted in the event of an oversubscription of entries. A total of 32 pairs will be admitted.

Hosted by Woodbrook in early March, the Irish Colleges Match Play Sprint will once again consist of 27 holes of team match play per day in nine-hole aggregate formats (akin to the GUI's Barton Shield format). Teams will consist of four players (any combination of male and female) playing in two foursomes pairs. As with last year, colleges may enter more than one team - additional teams may be subject to handicap ballot if there is an oversubscription.

The Irish Students Championship will take place in April, with the Ulster Championship in June, the Leinster Championship in August and the Munster Championship in October. The format for these events will be communicated after Christmas, following internal reviews within the GUI and ILGU on the first year of their two-year trial. 

The Irish Intervarsity Championship will take place in Rosapenna in mid-October with the format along the same lines as last year.
1-2 February: Irish Students Sixes, The Heath
1-2 March: Irish Colleges Match Play Championship, Woodbrook
10-12 April: Irish Students Amateur Open Championship, Tralee
5-7 June: Ulster Students Amateur Open Championship, Moyola Park
22-24 August: Leinster Students Amateur Open Championship, Killeen
3-5 October: Munster Students Amateur Open Championship, Charleville
17-19 October: Irish Intervarsity Championship, Rosapenna (Old Tom Morris)