Colleges schedule announced for 2019

​Students will travel to Ballyliffin, The Heath, Ardglass, St. Anne's and Co. Tipperary in 2019

  • 13 November 2018

​Caption: Elisa Corcoran (Grange/DCU) - Fran Caffrey, Golffile

The GUI and ILGU are pleased to release collegiate fixtures for 2018. These include, four Students' Championships over 54 holes each, and the Matchplay Championship. 

The inter-varsity season will begin in February at The Heath were members of college teams will compete in 18-hole matches against three other teams in a group to determine who advances to the quarter-finals at Woodbrook the following month. Two days of matchplay will determine the Irish Colleges Match Play Champions for 2019. Teams will consist of four players (any combination of male and female). As with last year, colleges may enter more than one team - additional teams may be subject to handicap ballot if there is an oversubscription.

The Irish Students Championship will return to its usual place in the calendar in August, taking place at the esteemed Ardglass links, with the Ulster Championship in April at Ballyliffin and the Munster Championship in June in Co Tipperary. The format for these events continue to present a 54-hole stroke play test to the student participants. 

The Irish Intervarsity Championship, won by Niamh Ward and James McVicker – both representing the University of Ulster -  in 2018, will take place at St Annes in mid-October with the format along the same lines as last year.

Payment of the college affiliation fee entitles a college/university to enter all of the 2019 events. Payment must be made via the following link by 31st December 2018

13 February: Irish Colleges Match Play Championship (Round 1), The Heath
7 & 8 March: Irish Colleges Match Play Championship (Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Final), Woodbrook
10-12 April: Ulster Students Amateur Open Championship, Ballyliffin
5-7 June: Munster Students Amateur Open Championship, Tipperary
28 – 30 August: Irish Students Amateur Open Championship, Ardglass
TBC October: Irish Intervarsity Championship, St. Anne’s