Galway Bay sparkles as Carey Cup gets underway

Although the home side struck first, it was the visitors who held sway after the morning foursomes on day one of the Carey Cup at Galway Bay Golf Resort.

  • 17 May 2017

Caption: O'Rourke and Yates on the 12th green en route to GUI's only point of the morning - image courtesy of Cashman Photography


The Metropolitan Golf Association, seeking to reclaim the title after defeat to the Golfing Union of Ireland on home soil at Metedeconk in 2015, ended the first session with a 2-1 lead when Steward Hagestad and Darin Goldstein closed out a two-hole victory against Alex Gleeson and Kevin Le Blanc.

Naas clubmates Conor O'Rourke and Jonathan Yates erased an early deficit in the first match to claim a 2&1 success. Despite making crucial par saves at 12 and 13 to continue the fightback in match three, Colm Campbell and Mark Power eventually succumbed at 16.

Over lunch, the GUI side were left to reflect on a mixed start. Blustery conditions made for a demanding test at Galway Bay. MGA pair Hagestad and Goldstein were not flustered though and they won the first four holes against Gleeson and Le Blanc. Campbell and Power also found themselves in arrears early on against Cline and Ng though they were just one behind at the turn.

O'Rourke and Yates were down by two but by the time they reached the 10th, they had their noses in front and went on to win with one hole to spare. Gleeson and Le Blanc won three holes in quick succession to give themselves a live chance on the back nine. Needing to win the last for a half, a bunkered tee shot ended their hopes of recovery.

GUI captain Tony Goode has named the same pairings for the four-balls although Gleeson and Le Blanc are out first, followed by Campbell and Power.

Although the home side struck first, it was the visitors who held sway after the morning foursomes on day one of the Carey Cup at Galway Bay Golf Resort.

Governor Hugh L Carey Challenge Cup
Sponsored by Corrib Oil
at Galway Bay Golf Resort

Wednesday 17th May

GUI v Metropolitan Golf Association of New York

0830 - Foursomes (GUI names first)
Conor O'Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Brian Komline & Trevor Randolph 2&1; Alex Gleeson & Kevin Le Blanc lost to Stewart Hagestad & Darin Goldstein 2H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power lost to Tyler Cline & Ethan Ng 3&2

1300 - Four-Balls (GUI names first)
Alex Gleeson & Kevin le Blanc lost to Brian Komline & Tyler Cline 1H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power beat Stewart Hagestad & Ethan Ng 3&2; Conor O'Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Trevor Randolph & Darin Goldstein 6&4


An eve of tournament Am-Am featuring three of Ireland’s Walker Cup panellists as well as Steward Hagestad, low amateur at The Masters, saw top honours going to the visitors at Galway Bay Golf Resort.

Posting a winning score of 61, the MGA’s Darin Goldstein led Team Lowry to victory alongside Brian Mahoney, Kate Keller and Dave Wensley. For the hosts, it was a chance to impress. For everyone, it was a day to savour.
“We are delighted to host such a prestigious event and are extremely honoured that our magnificent golf course, overlooking Galway Bay, has been selected to host this year’s event,” said Ronan Killeen, Director, Galway Bay Golf Resort.
This year’s match between the GUI and the MGA marks the 12th anniversary of the Carey Cup, which honours the memory of the late Hugh Carey, former Governor of New York.
This year’s Am-Am event sees increased support from the Irish-American business community with Corrib Oil as main sponsor.
“Sustaining the Carey Cup depends on the support from the business and golfing communities. Together we will secure a bright future,” said GUI President Peter Sinclair.
Played every two years at alternate venues, the Carey Cup has visited some of the finest courses in Ireland and the Met Area. Galway Bay – designed by Christy O’Connor Junior – provides an idyllic setting for this year’s encounter. A course that captures the rugged beauty of Ireland’s western landscape, it will provide a superb test over the next two days.
Play begins at 8.30am on Wednesday with foursomes in the morning followed by four ball matches in the afternoon. There are three matches in each session and six points to be won.
The Carey Cup concludes with six singles matches on Thursday. The GUI are the current title holders, following their 8-4 win at Metedeconk in 2015.

AM-AM Results

Third Place, with a score of 61
Team Reardon, represented by Colm Campbell, Russ Reardon, Ruth Reardon & Evan DeLuca
Runners-Up, with a score of 61 (better last 9)
Team Galway Bay, represented by Donal Gleeson, Donal Devery, Catriona O’Regan & Eileen Clasby
Winners of the 2017 Carey Cup Am-Am, sponsored by Corrib Oil, with a score of 61 (better last 6 holes) are:
Team Lowry, represented by Darin Goldstein, Brian Mahoney, Kate Keller & Dave Wensley