GUI retain trophy after tied finish to the Carey Cup

​​​GUI retain trophy after 6-6 tie against MGA of New York in the Governor Hugh L Carey Challenge Cup at Galway Bay Golf Resort

  • 18 May 2017

Caption: The winning GUI team​, back row from Alex Gleeson, Conor O'Rourke, Kevin Le Blanc, Jonathan Yates, Mark Power, Colm Campbell. Front row, from left ​Ronan Killeen (MD, Galway Bay Golf Resort), Michael Carey, Tony Goode (Team Captain), Peter Sinclair (President, GUI), Eugene Dalton (Corrib Oil, Sponsors), Sean Keenan (Captain, Galway Bay Golf Club). - image courtesy of Cashman Photography​


Both sides had to settle for a draw as the Carey Cup finished level at Galway Bay but the GUI retained the trophy as reigning champions.

Wins for Colm Campbell, Jonathan Yates and Conor O'Rourke secured a tie for Tony Goode's side. Another half point was needed for overall victory and Trevor Randolph ensured that it eluded the Irish with a one-hole win against Kevin Le Blanc.

Le Blanc won 17 to keep his match alive, having gone down when Randolph birdied 16. With both players putting for birdie at the last, Le Blanc's effort from 15-feet just missed and Randolph was able to secure his point with a par.


Earlier, Darren Goldstein and Ethan Ng had won the first two matches to put MGA in position for victory. Conor O'Rourke bucked the trend and won his third point of the week with another impressive display against Brian Komline, winning 3&2.

Naas clubmate Jonathan Yates produced the same result against Tyler Cline for his third win. Colm Campbell never trailed against Steward Hagestad, low amateur at The Masters.

Campbell pitched in for eagle at the 14th, which was only good enough for a half when Hagestad rolled in a 15-footer. By that stage, Campbell was in control and he closed out a 4&3 win.

Governor Hugh L Carey Challenge Cup
Sponsored by Corrib Oil
at Galway Bay Golf Resort

Results - Thursday 18th May
GUI 6 MGA of New York 6

Singles (GUI names first)
Alex Gleeson lost to Darin Goldstein 4&3
Mark Power lost to Ethan Ng 2 &1
Conor O'Rourke beat Brian Komline 3&2
Kevin Le Blanc lost to Trevor Randolph 1H
Jonathan Yates beat Tyler Cline 3&2
Colm Campbell beat Stewart Hagestad 4&3

Results - Wednesday 17th May

Foursomes (GUI names first)
Conor O'Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Brian Komline & Trevor Randolph 2&1; Alex Gleeson & Kevin Le Blanc lost to Stewart Hagestad & Darin Goldstein 2H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power lost to Tyler Cline & Ethan Ng 3&2

Four-Balls (GUI names first)
Alex Gleeson & Kevin le Blanc lost to Brian Komline & Tyler Cline 1H; Colm Campbell & Mark Power beat Stewart Hagestad & Ethan Ng 3&2; Conor O'Rourke & Jonathan Yates beat Trevor Randolph & Darin Goldstein 5&4