McEvoy Trophy underway

​​The race for the Bridgestone Boys International Order of Merit moves to Copt Heath for the Peter McEvoy Trophy (11-12 April) with many of Ireland’s leading boys in action.​

  • 12 April 2018
Picture: Lisburn's Aaron Marshall leads the Peter McEvoy Trophy after Round 1 - Phil Inglis | Golffile

The squad selected by the Golfing Union of Ireland includes Luke O’Neill (Connemara) who currently shares top spot alongside Odhran Maguire (Slieve Russell) and Edward Walsh (Mallow) in the Bridgestone Boys International Order of Merit. 

Athenry duo Allan Hill and David Kitt, runner-up at last year’s AIG Irish Amateur Close, will also travel to Copt Heath alongside John Brady (Rosslare) and Charlie Denvir (Elm Park). Denvir is fourth in the Bridgestone Boys International Order of Merit, just five points behind the leading trio.

Odhran Maguire also makes the trip to the McEvoy Trophy, as does Laytown & Bettystown's Alex Maguire.

The Peter McEvoy Trophy has become the traditional curtain raiser to the boys’ golf season. This year's event has been reduced to 36 holes played over two days. There are two previous Irish winners of the event: Gavin Moynihan (2012) and Mark Power (2016).

GUI Squad – Peter McEvoy Trophy, 11-12 April, Copt Heath: John Brady (Rosslare), Charlie Denvir (Elm Park), Allan Hill (Athenry), David Kitt (Athenry), Aaron Marshall (Lisburn), Luke O’Neill (Connemara).