Ireland in Austria for European Senior Men's Team Championship

​​​​​Ireland at The Diamond Country Club, Austria for the European Senior Men's Team Championship from 4-8 September​

  • 03 September 2018

Picture: Malone's Barry Hobson | Cashman Photography

Three members of last year's winning team return for Ireland's title defence at European Senior Men's Team Championship in Austria: Jim Carvill (Banbridge), John Mitchell (Tramore) and Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock). Maurice Kelly (Naas) last played in 2016 and there are two new caps: Steven Graham (East Sussex National) and Barry Hobson (Malone). 

Ireland are the reigning European champions having captured their sixth title last year in Sweden. Portmarnock's Adrian Morrow was the hero on that occasion, winning the decisive point at the 21st hole in the final against Denmark.

Steven Graham (East Sussex National) and Barry Hobson (Malone) will debut for Ireland at the Europeans. Graham was able to declare for Ireland as his father hails from Cork. He competed at this year's Irish Seniors Close in Enniscrone, where he finished third, and he was second at the Irish Seniors Open in Concra Wood. Hobson is a player in form after his runner-up finish at this week's Leinster Seniors Open.

Ireland Seniors Captain Michael Coote (Tralee) will accompany the team alongside team manager Barry Doyle (Carlow).
Ireland - European Senior Men's Team Championship, 4-8 September, Diamond CC, Austria: Jim Carvill (Banbridge), Steven Graham (East Sussex National), Barry Hobson (Malone), Maurice Kelly (Naas), John Mitchell (Tramoe), Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock).
Team Captain: Michael Coote (Tralee)
Team Manager: Barry Doyle (Carlow)