GUI name National, Provincial and Regional coaching panels

​​​Golfing Union of Ireland name players selected on panels for 2019

  • 29 November 2018

Picture: AIG Irish Amateur Close Champion Robbie Cannon and beaten finalist Eoin Leonard have been named in the GUI National Panel | Cashman Photography

GUI Provincial and Regional Coaching Panels 18-19.pdf GUI Selection Criteria - Coaching Panels 2018-2019.pdf

The Golfing Union of Ireland have named their coaching panels for 2019 at National, Provincial and Regional level.

There are three panels at National level: Men's, Under 18 and Under 16. Provincial and Regional panels have been selected within each province.

Players have been selected in line with the GUI's Selection Criteria At National level, the coaching is led by GUI National Coach Neil Manchip and the panels benefit from regular coaching weekends at the GUI National Golf Academy in Carton House.

Following an independent review, the GUI's High Performance programme was revamped in 2017 with the introduction of a centrally led HP system that has resulted in an alignment of GUI coaching activities at National and Provincial level. Provincial HP Leads in each province work in tandem with the GUI National Coach and the GUI HP Programme Manager to provide the talent pathway for players, which begins at Regional level and feeds into the Provincial coaching centres and onto the National panels.

The various panels, as well as a copy of the GUI Selection Criteria, are available to view on the GUI website - https://www.golfnet.ie/guihp

National Panel
Robert Brazill (Naas), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), Robert Cannon (Balbriggan), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Eoin Leonard (Wentworth), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), John Murphy (Kinsale), Peter O'Keeffe (Douglas), Mark Power (Kilkenny), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow)
U18 Panel
Josh Black (Lisburn), Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass), Robert Galligan (Elm Park), Dylan Keating (Seapoint), Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin), Alex Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown), Odhran Maguire (Slieve Russell), Joshua McCabe (Roganstown), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), Keaton Morrison (Greenacres), Aaron Marshall (Lisburn), Luke O'Neill (Connemara)
U16 Panel
Liam Abom (Edmondstown), Eoghan Cassidy (Kinsale), Mel Deasy (Bantry Bay), Thomas Higgins (Roscommon), Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle), Alex King (Faithlegg), Ewan McArthur (Massereene), Paraic McGrath (Cregmore Park), Sean McLoughlin (Co Sligo), Daniel Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown)