Four new faces for Home Internationals

​There are four debutants on the Ireland team for the Home Internationals at Lahinch later this month.

  • 02 September 2019

PHOTO: Matthew McClean is rewarded for a stellar season with a place on the Ireland side. Image by Golffile.

Ireland have become the dominant force at the Home Internationals in recent seasons. Few would have predicted that 2014's Triple Crown success would be the start of an unprecedented run, culminating at Moortown in 2017 when Ireland completed four in a row.

Ireland's three Walker Cup players spearhead the line up for this year's Home Internationals. Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) and James Sugrue (Mallow) know what it takes to succeed around Lahinch. All three players have won the South of Ireland at the Co Clare venue in recent season. Purcell made his championship breakthrough at the South in 2016 and was succeeded as champion by Sugrue. Rafferty captured his first major title at the South in 2018.

Warrenpoint's Colm Campbell, who delivered the decisive points for Ireland in 2016 and again the following year, returns to the team for Lahinch after a year out through injury. Campbell, 32, played on all four winning Irish teams from 2014 to 2017 and regained his place on the team through the Bridgestone Order of Merit.

Rob Brazill (22) from Naas is among four newcomers in the side. Like Campbell, Brazill gained his cap automatically through the Bridgestone Order of Merit, which he won. Galway's Ronan Mullarney (23) also secured his place through the merit table.

Holywood's Tom McKibbin (16) is the youngest player selected. McKibbin has been promoted from the Boys team after a year in which he has won the Peter McEvoy Trophy and the Junior Invitational at Sage Valley. Malone's Matthew McClean and Keith Egan from Carton House have also been selected for the first time following impressive seasons.

Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock) returns to the team having last played in green at the 2016 Home Internationals.​

IRELAND: Rob Brazill (Naas), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), Keith Egan (Carton House), Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock), Matthew McClean (Malone), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow).