It's West of Ireland time

​Cracking West of Ireland Open Championship just weeks away

  • 20 March 2017

Following the close of entries the Championship Committee have issued the Player Pack outlining the various Start Lists for the respective Championship & Qualifier.


The handicap cut mark has fallen at an impressive 0.0 for the Championship field of 138 players who shall contest the 2017 Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Sligo West of Ireland Amateur Open Championship from April 14th – 18th. That 138 shall include a minimum of six players who shall come from amongst 94 Players taking part in the 18 Hole Strokeplay Qualifier on Wednesday April 12. The handicap cut mark for this field fell at 2.4 and another 30 players make up a Reserve List showing the huge popularity amongst the elite golfers of the country for the coveted title.


2016 Winner Jonathan Yates is amongst those entered and like many other past Champions he will endeavour to emulate the feat of back to back titles last achieved by none other than Rory McIlroy in 2005 & 2006. He will face very stiff opposition from an array of Irish Championship winners in players of the calibre of Robbie Cannon, Sean Flanagan, Alex Gleeson, Kevin Le Blanc, Robin Dawson, Tiarnan McLarnon, John Ross Galbraith, Colm Campbell Jnr., Gary Collins and the championship's lowest handicap entrant, Conor O'Rourke (Naas), pictured, playing off +5.


As always there is an overseas flavour to the event and its standout entrant in 2017 is an 18year old Danish youngster who is ranked inside WAGR's Top 600 and playing off +3, Christoffer Bring (Naestved, DEN).​


So put April 14-18 in your diary and make your way to County Sligo and watch the finest Irish Amateur Golf has to offer compete to be crowned the 2017 West of Ireland Amateur Open Champion.