Connacht Golf Annual Delegates' meeting Report

​Report on Connacht Golf ADM and Awards Night

  • 01 December 2017

​Caption: (L-R Thomas Higgins, Ross Kelly & Darren Leufer)

Forty of fortyone Clubs were in attendance. where weighted voting was in operation for the first time based on the number of members each club had paid a subscription for to the GUI.

PRESENTATIONS were made to -

FORE FOLF Order of Merit Winners for 2017
Boys U14 Order of Merit – Thomas Higgins (Roscommon)
Boys U16 Order of Merit – Darren Leufer (Athenry)
Boys U18 Order of Merit – Ross Kelly (Tuam) 
Senior Order of Merit – Alex Gleeson (Castle)
Veteran Order of Merit – Liam Halpin (Westport) 
Services to Connacht Golf – Gar Golden (Westport)

Leslie Robinson PGA
Presentation was made to retiring Connacht Provincial Coach, Leslie Robinson PGA acknowledging his 26years service to Connacht Golf as a Provincial Coach.  
Leslie Robinson 1.JPG


Chairman – Michael Heaney (Oughterard)
Hon. Secretary – Jimmy Duggan (Galway) 
Hon. Treasurer – Niall MacSweeney (Athenry))                     

Provincial Council 
Richard Canavan (Tuam)
John Durcan (Co Sligo)
Michael Evans (Athlone)
Patrick Horkan (Westport)
Martin Hynes (Athenry)
John MacDonagh (Castlebar)
Cathal McConn (Roscommon)
Nicky McLoughlin (Ballina)
Jim Mooney (Boyle)
John O’Donoghue (Strandhill)
Tony Slevin (Loughrea)

Auditors appointed  
Russell Brennan Keane, RBK House, Irishtown, Athlone.

The results of Motions of National Relevance will be announced on Friday 1st December after all four Annual Delegates Meetings have taken place.

One Governing Body
An update was provided on the emerging proposals for a One Governing Body in Ireland following two years of work.  Details of the proposal have been presented to the Boards of the GUI and ILGU however work is required to further develop the emerging proposal over the coming weeks.
If the Boards are happy with the draft proposals, it will be issued to the four Provincial Councils for feedback.  Before the final proposal is put to a vote at an EGM, a comprehensive series of briefing sessions will take place for clubs. 

CONGU Changes 2018
The National Handicapping Committee is scheduled to meet on Wednesday 6th December and will consider the recently announced CONGU changes for 2018.  
Full guidelines will be issued to all affiliated clubs on the transition from 31 December 2017 to 01 January 2018" after this meeting.  The CONGU changes can be viewed on this link https://www.golfnet.ie/news/golfnet/2767/changes-to-handicap-system-announced

Issued on 29th November 2017 
By Enda Lonergan 
Executive Officer