Connacht Golf Sub-Committees appointed by Provincial Council

Your GUI Volunteers in Connacht for 2019​

  • 31 January 2019

Image: The iconic Par 5, 15th at Westport - Venue for the 2019 AIG Connacht & National Cups and Shields Finals.

​With January almost complete and many of us thinking of getting back on the fairways after our Winter hibernation in preparation for the 2019 Championship and Inter Club season others are also preparing to make this all  run smoothly.

The Connacht Provincial Council is a volunteer body which overseas the administration of the game of Men's golf in the province. In order to do this it is very much dependent on Volunteers.

The 2019 Connacht Golf volunteer subcommittees have been appointed as follows:

2019 Connacht Golf Sub-Committees

1) Rules & Competitions Committee: 
Convenor Michael Evans, Nicky McLoughlin, Executive Officer, Pat Horkan, Richard Canavan, John Durcan and Hon. Secretary.

2) S.S.S. & Handicapping Committee: Convenor Jim Mooney, Tony Slevin, John O Donoghue, Pat Horkan, Eugene Fayne, John Durcan and Chairman.
USGA Rating Team: 
Jim Mooney (Leader), John O’Donoghue, Nicky McLoughlin, Cathal McConn, Michael Evans, & Tony Slevin.

3) Coaching Management Committee: 
Convenor Martin Hynes, Ian Kearney HP Lead Coach, Tony Slevin, John Durcan, Cathal McConn, Kevin Henry, John Waters, Damien Coyne, Coaches Keith O’Neill PGA, Hugh O’Neill PGA, Xavier Medas PGA and Chairman.

4) Finance Committee: 
Convenor Niall MacSweeney, Michael Evans, Michael Connaughton, Cathal McConn, Eugene Fayne and Chairman.

5) Connacht Annual Committee: 
Convenor Pat Horkan, Executive Officer, Richard Canavan, Martin Hynes, Michael Connaughton, Seamus Gallagher and Honorary Treasurer.

6) Junior Golf Committee: 
Convenor Tony Slevin, Ian Kearney HP Lead, Justin O’Byrne (CGI), John MacDonagh, Martin Hynes, Nicky McLoughlin, Peter Mulry, Alan Ffrench and Honorary Secretary & Chairman.

7) Interclub Tournament Committee: 
Convenor Jimmy Duggan, Michael Evans and Executive Officer..

8) West of Ireland Committee: 
Convenor Michael Heaney, Jimmy Duggan, Niall MacSweeney, Jim Mooney and Executive Officer.

9) Championship Committee: 
Provincial Council, Executive Officer, D Dent, K Henry, J Costello, D Rushe, J Waters, D Benson, M Donohoe, and R Kandiah.

10) Junior Selection Committees:
Boys Under 18: 
Kevin Henry (Captain), John MacDonagh (Manager), Tony Slevin.
Boys Under 16: 
Martin Hynes (Captain), Rory O’Connor (Manager), Shane Freeman .
Boys Under 14: 
John Waters (Captain), Shane Francis (Manager), Robert Fitzpatrick.

11) Senior Selection Committee: 
Damien Coyne (Captain), Cathal McConn.​ (Manager),  Simon Rooney

12) Constitution Committee: 
Convenor John MacDonagh, Eugene Fayne, Richard Canavan, Seamus Gallagher and Hon. Secretary.

Approved by Council 7 January 2019.