Galway Bay take Leading Qualifier accolade at Fred Daly

​Surprise as Galway miss out on Fred Daly Trophy for 2019

  • 07 May 2019

​Image: Darren Leufer (Athenry)

FRED DALY Trophy Report

The May bank holiday Monday saw the staging of the Fred Daly Stroke Play Qualifiers at Athenry Golf Club on a perfect afternoon for golf.

The format saw the Teams of five players compete over 18 Holes with the aggregate Top 4 Gross scores determining the placings.

The Top four Clubs going through to the Trophy and those finishing 5th through 8th heading to the Plate.

The major surprise was the failure of the Holders, Galway, to make it through to the Trophy for the first time in nearly a decade, finishing two strokes shy of the required mark to take one of the top 4 places.

The best individual score of the day was -2 (68) shared by two players, Athenry’s Darren Leufer and Galway Bay’s Luke Cunningham. Galway bay would take the leading qualifier accolade on 293, five strokes clear of Roscommon on 298, with third and fourth going to Athenry and County Sligo respectively on 310 and 314.

The semi-final pairings for the Trophy are –

Galway Bay versus County Sligo and Roscommon versus Athenry.

The semi-finals and final shall be played over the weekend of July 20 & 21 at Castle Dargan Golf Club, which shall in turn host the National Finals in September. Timings of these matches to be confirmed.

As previously mentioned Galway took 5th place, albeit on the countback from Enniscrone in 6th, with Oughterard and Athlone rounding out the semi-final pairings in 7th and 8th respectively.

The Plate semi-finals shall be played on the weekend of Saturday and Sunday July 20 & 21 on a Home & Away basis as follows:

Saturday 20th July
Match A1 - Athlone versus Galway & Match B1 - Oughterard versus Enniscrone
Sunday 21st July
Match A2 - Galway versus Athlone & Match B2 - Enniscrone versus Oughterard.

The Plate Final shall be on the weekend of August 17th & 18th as follows:

Saturday 17th August
Winners match B versus Winners match A
Sunday 18th August
Winners match A versus Winners match B

The CSS for the Stroke Play Qualifiers as 70.


Enda Lonergan,
Executive Officer.
7 May 2019.