Report from the 95th and final ADM of Connacht Golf

​​Well attended meeting was briefed on Golf Ireland and the World Handicap System

  • 27 November 2019

​Main Image: Chairman presents David Scott, Captain Westport Golf Club with the Best Tournament Venue Award for 2019

Report from the 95th Annual Delegates' Meeting of Connacht Golf, 26th November 2019

The final Annual Delegates' meeting of Connacht Golf took place on Tuesday 26th November 2019 in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris with 33 Clubs represented.

Condolences were extended to all whom had passed since the last meeting, in particular the former Chairman of Connacht Golf and President GUI in 1991, Gar Golden (Westport). A minute's silence was observed by the gathering.

Presentations took place as follows:

Golf Ireland Update

An introduction was given by the Chairman of the Board of the GUI, Iognaid O'Muircheartaigh and a complete briefing by Golf Ireland Transitions Board Member, Breege McCarrick assisted by GUI Board member and Transitions Board Member, John Power.

They gave an outline and background on the various members of the Transitions Board, highlighting Tim O'Connor (Chairman) and also the appointment of the first CEO of Golf Ireland, Mark Kennelly who shall take up his position in mid-December 2019.

They advised that Golf Ireland shall become a formal entity on 1st January 2021 and that the GUI/ILGU and CGI will continue to operate as normal while structures for the new organization are being built.

Nine sub committees have been established by the Transitions Board of Golf Ireland in the following areas – CEO Recruitment; Finance & Governance; Branding, Logo & Website; Property and Office Accommodations; Handicapping, Competitions & Tournaments; Models of Club Governance; Organisational Structures; and Volunteering

World Handicap System (WHS)

An update on the WHS was presented by Jim Mooney (Connacht Golf SSS & Handicapping Convenor). He outlined the key elements and terminology relating to Course Rating & Slope Rating and the formats of play that will count for handicap purposes under the new system.

The Education Schedule was provided as follows:- Club Delegates (2 men and 2 women from each club) will be invited to seminars in the first quarter of 2020 followed by Club Members education by the end of quarter two. Clubs are asked to encourage players to have as many entries on their Handicap Record by 31st October 2020 and prior to the WHS Implementation on 2nd November 2020.



Chairman – Michael Heaney (Oughterard)

Hon. Secretary – Jimmy Duggan (Galway)

Hon. Treasurer – Niall MacSweeney (Athenry)

Provincial Council

Newly Elected – Archie McMahon (Enniscrone)

Eleven Ordinary Delegates Elected

1. Richard Canavan (Tuam)

2. John Durcan (Co. Sligo)

3. Michael Evans (Athlone)

4. Patrick Horkan (Westport)

5. Martin Hynes (Athenry)

6. John MacDonagh (Castlebar)

7. Cathal McConn (Roscommon)

8. Nicky McLoughlin (Ballina)

9. Archie McMahon (Enniscrone)

10. Jim Mooney (Boyle)

11. Tony Slevin (Loughrea)

Appointment of Auditors.

RBK, Athlone;

Appointment of Solicitor.

Daniel McGrath & Associates, Tuam;


Written reports issued in advance from the Convenor of Junior Golf (Tony Slevin) and the four Inter Provincial Team Captains were taken as read.


All three motions of provincial relevance before the meeting were presented and passed unanimously by the meeting.

The first two, tabled by the Provincial Council dealt with the winding up of Connacht Golf and the transfer of funds to Golf Ireland.

The remaining motion, tabled by Mulranny Golf Club, shall see the Connacht Shield reverting back to its tradition Team of 10 in five foursome pairings format with effect from 2020.​

FORE GOLF 2019 Connacht Golf Order of Merit Winners

U14 – Adam Challoner (Galway Bay)

U16 – Cian O'Connor (Roscommon)

U18 – Simon Walker (Roscommon)

Senior – Ronan Mullarney (Galway)

Veteran – Alan Moran (Tuam)


Best Tournament Venue 2019

David Scott  (Captain, Westport Golf Club)


All Awards were presented to the recipients by Chairman of Connacht Golf, Michael Heaney.


Issued on 27th November 2019

By Enda Lonergan

Executive Officer

Connacht Golf