Marshall defeats Walsh in dramatic play-off at Headfort

Aaron Marshall (Lisburn) wins by three at the Titleist Footjoy Sponsored Leinster Boys Championship  

  • 21 April 2017
Lisburn’s Aaron Marshall won the 2017 Leinster Boys Amateur Open Championship today at Headfort New Course in a three-hole playoff against Edward Walsh (Mallow).  

Both players finished 54 holes on one under par (215) to force a play-off situation.  It was Marshall who proved supreme when leading by one shot on the third hole, hit a magnificent seven iron 160 yards from a fairway bunker to approximately 10ft from the flag.  He held his nerve and holed the putt to win the title by 3 shots.

Third place went to Hilton Templepatrick’s Reece Black who carded a superb 68, four under par on his final round to finish on two over (218).

Picture above:
John Ferriter (Chairman, Leinster Golf, GUI) presenting winner Aaron Marshall (Lisburn) with the 2017 Leinster Boys Amateur Open Championship trophy after his victory at Headfort Golf Club today. (21/04/2017). Also in the picture is Alex Maguire, Laytown & Bettystown (Under 17 Winner). Picture by Pat Cashman