McCormack Excels in the Heat

​​Leinster Mid Amateur Trophy is headed West

  • 17 June 2017

​Eddie McCormack from Galway Bay Golf Club is the winner of the Leinster Mid Amateur Open Championship 2017.

In conditions perfect for golf, McCormack who set a new Course Record yesterday afternoon with his score of 69, carded a 1 under par third round 71 to win the Leinster Mid Amateur by an impressive 14 shots from 2016 Winner Jim Carvill (Banbridge) who finished with a total score of 225. Eddie's fine form has continued since the Connacht Mid Amateur Open Championship last month where he claimed the title by 1 shot.

Jim returned a final round of 77 to finish in second place while Andrew Adair (Carnalea) finished third with a final round of 74. Greystone's Alan Condron was next on the leaderboard carding a 72 Level Par to finish with a final score of 226 to take fourth place.

Best Nett went to Ollie Shannon (The Island) who finished on 217.

Final Results – Click Here

Picture Courtesy of Pat Cashman:
John Ferriter (Chairman Leinster Golf) and Paul Reville (Captain Charlesland GC) presenting Eddie McCormack (Galway Bay) with the Leinster Mid Amateur Open trophy after his victory at Charlesland GC today.