Enniscorthy lift the title on home soil

In a cracking match ​​​​in the Provincial Towns Cup final at Enniscorthy, visitors Headfort fought back after a 6-3 result in the first leg to level the score at 9-9.

  • 20 August 2017

Headfort took the top four matches to put the home club under pressure and force a play off. 

Sean Heggarty playing number one for Enniscorthy while beaten in his earlier match found the resolve to win the first two tie holes and the title for Enniscorthy.

​Enniscorthy last played in a Provincial Towns Cup final in 2014 when they were defeated by Cill Dara. Team Manager Tim Morrisey said in his winning speech "it was a great victory by his team and the club is delighted to win a Leinster pennant and thanked Headfort for a great final".

Final Results

Photo caption 
​​John Ferriter (Chairman, Leinster Golf, GUI) presenting Jack Murphy (Captain, Enniscorthy Golf Club) with the 2017 Leinster Provincial Towns Cup after their victory at Enniscorthy Golf Club today (20/08/2017). Also in the picture are in front (from left) John Cullen (Leinster Golf), Jim Hogan (President, Enniscorthy Golf Club), Tim Morrissey (Joint Team Manager) and John Byrne (Joint Team Manager). Team members at back (from left) Declan Byrne, Denis Dunne, James Foley, Eddie Doyle, Davy Murphy, Sean Hegarty, Jim Mackey, Willie Dobbs, Eunan Doyle, Joe Murphy and Shane Fortune. Picture by Pat Cashman