Leinster Golf Annual Delegates Meeting 2018

​​Results of the Leinster Golf Annual Delegates Meeting 

  • 27 November 2018
The Leinster Golf Annual Delegates Meeting was held on Monday 26th November 2018 in Carton House Hotel. Results as follows:- 

1. Order of Merit Winners for 2018
Boys U14 Order of Merit – Daniel Mulligan ( Laytown & Bettystown) 
Boys U16 Order of Merit – Joshua McCabe (Roganstown)
Boys U18 Order of Merit – Max Kennedy (The Royal Dublin)
Youths U21 Order of Merit – Mark Power (Kilkenny) 
Senior Order of Merit – Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) 

Daniel Mulligan Laytown Bettystown.jpg
Boys U14 Order of Merit – Daniel Mulligan ( Laytown & Bettystown) ​

Joshua McCabe (Roganstown) 2.jpg
Boys U16 Order of Merit – Joshua McCabe (Roganstown)​

2. One Governing Body (OGB)
Two presentations were made on Golf Ireland – the proposed new body to replace GUI and ILGU.

A briefing was provided by the Chairman of the GUI Board, Iggy O’Muircheartaigh and CEO Pat Finn on the Golf Ireland proposals.  They outlined the reasons why Golf Ireland had come about, the process to date,  the new organisational structure being proposed and the areas to be addressed during the transitional period of two years from the date the vote is taken.

The Leinster Council’s response was presented by Joe McNamara. He stated that while the Leinster Council welcomes the concept of One Governing Body for Golf in Ireland, it had serious concerns in relation to a number of areas within the proposals in particular:-
1. Financial/Assets/Staff
2. Rotation of the Presidency
3. Composition of the Regional Executive 
4. Composition of the Board of the proposed new body. 
He presented suggestions to amend the Golf Ireland proposal in each of the above areas and finished by saying “that it is the biggest decision we have ever had to make and critical to the future of golf in Ireland, so important that we get it right”.  
The proposal to form Golf Ireland will be voted on by affiliated clubs at an EGM of the GUI scheduled to take place on 19th January 2019.
Chairman – Joe McNamara (The Heath)
Hon. Secretary - Dominick Murphy (Kilkenny)       
Hon. Treasurer – Aidan Marsden (Tullamore)
Provincial Council (*newly elected) 
Zone - Dublin South & East 
Tony Goode (Lucan); Harry McAlinden (Bray); Anthony Maher (Charlesland)
Zone - South & East Leinster 
John Cullen (Enniscorthy); Thos Hennessy (Carlow); David Parle (Coollattin)
Zone - Dublin North & West
Jerome Clancy (Clontarf); Jack Dempsey (Malahide); Kevin Raftery (Forrest Little)
Zone - North & West Leinster
Michael Delany (Laytown & Bettystown); *Brian McCormack (Castle Barna); John McGrath (Royal Tara) 
Zone - Mid Leinster
Ger Ennis (Athy); *Michael Geraghty (The Heritage); Willie O'Brien (Killeen)

Fintan Buckley (Hermitage); Barry Doyle (Carlow); Walter Skelton (The Island)

Auditors appointed  
Hayden Brown Chartered Accountants, 34 Grafton Street, Dublin 2.

Motion of Provincial Relevance 
Proposed by the Leinster Provincial Council
“That with effect from 2019, the first round of the Senior Cup in Leinster is played as Stroke Play Qualifying”.
Result: Carried. 

Motions of National Relevance
The results of Motions of National Relevance will be announced by GUI HQ on Friday 30th November after all four Annual Delegates Meetings have taken place.