Naas CBS keep the Pace to Win in Schools League

​​​Congratulations to Naas CBS on winning the Leinster Inter Schools League Match Play Finals at Baltinglass Golf Club

  • 09 April 2019

The finals of the Leinster Inter Schools League were played at Baltinglass Golf Club on Monday 8th April. Baltinglass was in great condition given how early in the season the finals were taking place, while the day was cold and a little damp conditions otherwise were solid.

Naas CBS beat St Michaels in the first semi-final by 3 holes and Cistercian College in Roscrea were too strong for St Peters College, Wexford in the other semi also by 3 holes. Things were nicely set up for the final in the afternoon. Naas had a 3 handicapper, two 4's and a 5 in their ranks and were backboned by Jamie Butler who was a previous winner of the Leinster Under 16 Championship 2018. Cistercian included Sam Murphy in their team and he was a stalwart of the winning Portumna Junior Cup team in 2018 and they also included a 7, 9 and 16 handicappers.

However it rang true as the lower handicapped players came to the fore, Sean Clince and Daragh Behan were leading in the first game by 5 holes while Jamie Butler and Sean O'Rourke were ahead of Murphy and his partner by 3 holes, overall win 8 up.

Huge thanks to the Committee of Baltinglass GC once again for the courtesy of their course and all the teams involved in the Leinster Inter Schools League Match Play this year.

Photo: The winning team from Naas CBS with Joe McNamara (Chairman Leinster Golf) from left: Sean O'Rourke, Darragh Behan, James Butler and Sean Clince

Courtesy of Ronan Quinlan​