Fred Daly Leinster Finals

​​​On a glorious sunny day Woodbrook Golf Club welcomed the teams to compete in the Fred Daly Trophy final – Laytown & Bettystown V Mullingar and the Fred Daly Plate final – Black Bush V Wexford.

  • 30 July 2019
Main photograph: Fred Daly Trophy team Mullingar (l-r) Mikey Mina Ronayne, Michael McCormack, Adam Smith, Shane Murtagh and Lucas Kane pictured with their supporters. Courtsey of Pat Cashman Photography

Fred Daly Trophy Final:
Laytown & Bettystown were competing in their second final in 4 years while Mullingar were beaten semi finalist in 2016.  Included in the Laytown & Bettystown team was Daniel Mulligan fresh from helping the Leinster Under 16 team win the Interprovincial title in Athlone.

The match was a tight affair with matches very level in the opening stages.  In Match 2 Annraoi Collins (L&B) started to edge away from Michael McCormack (Mullingar) and ended the match with a 5&4 victory. Meanwhile Match 5 was going the way of Mullingar with Mikey Mina Ronayne (Mullingar) ending his match against Paul Gogarty (L&B) with a 4&3 win.  This left the match at one all with the other matches heading down the home straight.  Match 1 saw Adam Smith (Mullingar) see off Alex Maguire (L&B) on the 18th hole after a tough tussle all day long, winning by 1 hole. Match 3 saw Daniel Mulligan (L&B) get the better of Shane Murtagh (Mullingar) 2&1 – obviously the form from the Interpros was still with him.    The overall match was now tied at two all with Match 4 heading to the 17th tee all square.  Lucas Kane (Mullingar) won the 17th hole with a fine up and down and headed to the 18th hole now 1 up.  Two good drives saw  both players with shortish approach shot with Lucas applying the pressure with a majestic shot to 2 feet.  Daniel McKenna (L&B) knew he had to produce a miracle shot to try to force the match into extra holes but unfortunately it was not to be his or Laytown & Bettystown day.  Lucas winning his match and the Fred Daly Trophy Provincial Pennant for Mullingar by 2 holes. 

Final result:  Mullingar 3 – Laytown & Bettystown 2

Fred Daly Plate Final:
Black Bush and Wexford followed the Trophy final and it also proved to be a very close fought battle with no side dominate in the early stages.  The final result does not reflect how close the match was.  Black Bush had included in their panel Sean Doyle, another player fresh from helping the Leinster Under 18 team win the Interprovincial title in Athlone.  Unfortunately Sean sustained an injury during the Interpros and was not able to take part in the match but was there to cheer his side on.

Matches were tight all along and eventually Match 1 went the way of Black Bush with John Cullen (Black Bush) seeing off Ryan Cashin (Wexford) 2&1.  This was followed soon after with Match 4 also going the way of Black Bush with Shane Kennedy beating Alex Currid 5&4.  Match 2 was a very tight affair with Aron McKeon (Wexford) winning the 18th hole in fine style to force the match down extra holes.  Match 2 was still all square after 19 holes. Match 3 then finished on the 17th with Aidan Fraher (Black Bush) seeing off Rhian Clarke (Wexford) 2&1 and this was followed almost simultaneously with Arron O’Neill (Black Bush) beating Ben McAleese (Wexford) 3&2.  At this stage Match 2 was called in with Aron McKeon (Wexford) and Sean Kennedy (Black Bush) sharing the match.  

Final result: Black Bush 4.5 – Wexford 0.5

Joe McNamara Leinster Golf Chairman, praised the teams on making it to the finals, congratulated the winners and runner's up wishing them well in future years. He said that a lot of thanks has to go the parents for all their support, encouragement and driving, throughout the year.  Thanks is also due to the Club volunteers who give of the time willingly and freely to help with the Junior sections of the clubs.  He wished the clubs success for the remainder of the year. 

Leinster Golf would like to thank Woodbrook making their course available and to all the staff for their help in making this an enjoyable day for all.​

Black Bush Fred Daly Team.jpg
Fred Daly Plate Winners Black Bush (l-r) Sean Doyle (Junior Captain), Paul O'Farrell (Vice Captain, Woodbrook Golf Club) and Brian Healy (Team Captain) Joe McNamara (Chairman, Leinster Golf), Declan Murray (Captain, ack Bush). Standing (l-r) Miriam Horan (Lady Captain, Black Bush Golf Club), Martin Kennedy (Junior Convenor), Aidan Fraher, John Cullen, Sean Kennedy, Shane Kennedy, Aaron O'Neill and Siobhan Cartuir (President, Black Bush Golf Club) Courtesy Pat Cashman Photography​