Defending champions Tullamore take the title once again!

​​​Thirteen clubs qualified to play in this very popular inter club Leinster Final at Castlewarden GC. These clubs had come through zone qualifying in Callan, Donabate, Greystones & Royal Tara and for many boys it afforded them the first opportunity to represent their club in a provincial final.​ 

  • 20 August 2019

 The event is proving very popular with underage golfers since it's institution as it appeals to clubs and players up to a handicap of 24, none of whom were off 5.4 or lower last year. The format is Nett Stableford with three of five scores to count. 

Our congratulations to Tullamore GC on their excellent win with 108pts. For much of the day it seemed that Craddockstown GC out first at 9am would win with 102pts but two of the last three teams out on the course relegated them into 3rd place, including Castlecomer who were pipped by the smallest of margins on 107pts. 

Natinonal Champions in 2018, Tullamore will once again go on to represent Leinster in the All Ireland Finals at Castle Dargan GC on Sunday 29th September 29th and we wish them every success as they aim to take home another green pennant. 

Host club Castlewarden is a club with a longstanding  connections to Leinster Golf. Dom Murphy, Honorary Secretary of Leinster Golf alluded to this fact during his presentation speech, he also mentioned he was Manager of his former school's Junior and Senior Golf Team for many years over 20 years ago and even back then Castlewarden supported "the Branch" every year. 

The course was in great condition and the boys all relished the challenge off the Blue Tees. Three boys scored 38pts and the standard of golf all day was excellent. Praise must be given to the boys for their pace of play plus their course etiquette. The support of parents, Junior Convenors and senior Club Officials must also be applauded and it was wonderful, once more, to see the commitment of these people towards the development of junior golf at these clubs. The same must be said of course to the other 60 clubs who entered zone qualifying but did not make it to the Leinster Final at Castlewarden.

Results ​

Photo Ronan Quinlan - Cashman Photohgraphy 
Caption - Tullamore team (l to r): Jack Mullins, Ross Healion, Colm Farrell,  Declan Farrell, Team Manager, Michael Fox, Daniel Fox, Evan Monaghan and Liam Delaney.