Baltinglass triumphant winners of the Provincial Towns Cup

The second leg of the Provincial Towns Cup Final between Baltinglass and Tullamore was held at Baltinglass Golf Club on Saturday 24th Aug 2019.

  • 26 August 2019

Tullamore were leading 5/4 from the first leg, they got off to a good start with Daniel Fox winning a very tight game on the 17th but with big wins for Ned Cremin and Bryan Kilcoyle of Baltinglass in the middle games this turned the match in the home club's favour.  With this encouragement the rest of the Baltinglass team started to get the upper hand. Wins by ​Nathan Geraghty, Kevin Lord and Neil Paterson left the club only needing one more win, this was provided by Niall Doogue on the 18th which secured the point they need to close out the match, with the two games still on the course called in, this gave Baltinglass a 7/2 win on the day with an aggregate of result of 11/7 to clinch the trophy.  The greenkeeping staff had the course in excellent condition after a week of poor weather, both teams had good turnout of supporters, everyone enjoying the atmosphere.  Full results​ can be found on Golfnet.​

Photograph courtesy of Cashman Photography, Ronan Quinlan: Winning Baltinglass team, front (l to r): Neil Patterson, Jim Murray, President, Martin Hennessy, Captain, Dom Murphy, Honorary Secretary of Leinster Golf, Sean O'Connell, Team Manager, Fergal Doogue, Team Manager and Ned Cremin.  Back: Niall Doogue, TJ Deering, Eoghan Cooney, Sean McCormack, Nathan Geraghty, Kevin Lord, Bryan Kilcoyne, Colm Cooney, Bernard Bowes and Michael O'Neill.