O'Connor Claims Victory at Headfort GC

​​Brian O'Connor (Hermitage) wins the 2019 Leinster Mid Amateur Open Championship after dramatic 3-hole playoff.

  • 06 September 2019

Brian O'Connor from Hermitage GC claimed the Leinster Mid Amateur Open Championship title at Headfort GC today in a very exciting 3-hole play-off against Rory Leonard (Banbridge).  Both players finished after 36 holes on two over par 146 to force a play-off situation, but it was O'Connor who sealed the deal over the 3 holes.

Two behind the leaders on 148 (+4), William Smith from Chambersburg Country Club, USA took third place on countback from Lisburn's Christopher Moulds who had to settle for fourth position.

The Best Nett over 36 holes went to Andrew Norrby from Lisburn GC with a score of 143.

Final Results

Photo Courtesy of Ronan Quinlan:
Leinster Mid Amateur Open Championship Winner, Brian O'Connor (The Hermitage).