Leinster Golf Annual Delegates Meeting 2019

​The final Annual Delegates Meeting of Leinster Golf took place on Monday 25th November 2019 in Castleknock Hotel with 97 clubs represented.     

  • 26 November 2019

PRESENTATIONS took place as follows:-

Golf Ireland 
A briefing was provided jointly by Tim O'Connor (Chairman of the Golf Ireland Transitions Board) and Transitions Board Member, Fiona Scott. They advised that Golf Ireland will be established on 1st January 2021 and that the GUI/ILGU & CGI will continue to operate as normal while structures for the new organisation are being built.

It was outlined how important volunteers are to the development of Golf Ireland. Nine Sub Committees have been established by the Golf Ireland Transitions Board in the following areas:- Appointment of the CEO; Finance and Governance, Branding, Logo and Website, Property and Office Accommodation, Handicapping, Competitions and Tournament, Models of Club Governance, Organisation Structures and Volunteering. 
Copy of presentation download here 

Order of Merit Winners for 2019
Senior (Joint Winners)  Rob Brazill (Naas)                                    Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) abroad
Youths U21                  Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy)
Boys U18                      Dylan Keating (Seapoint)
Boys U16                      Liam Abom (Edmondstown)
Boys U14                      Aiden O'Carroll (Powerscourt)

World Handicap System (WHS)

An update on the WHS was presented by Jerome Clancy (National SSS & Handicapping Convenor).  He outlined the key elements and terminology relating to Course Rating & Slope Rating and the formats of play that will count for handicap purposes under the new system.

The Education Schedule was provided as follows:-
Club Delegates (2 men and 2 women from each club) will be invited to seminars in the first quarter of 2020 followed by Club Members education by the end of quarter two.
Clubs are asked to encourage players to have as many entries on their Handicap Record by 31st October 2020 and prior to the WHS Implementation on 2nd November 2020.
Copy of presentation download here 

Chairman – Joe McNamara (The Heath)
Hon. Secretary - Dominick Murphy (Kilkenny)      
Hon. Treasurer – Aidan Marsden (Tullamore)               

Provincial Council (Re-elected):-
Zone - Dublin South & East             Harry McAlinden (Bray)
Zone - South & East Leinster           David Parle (Coollattin)

Council & Zones

Zone - Dublin South & East 
Tony Goode (Lucan); Harry McAlinden (Bray); Anthony Maher (Charlesland)
Zone - South & East Leinster 
John Cullen (Enniscorthy); Thos Hennessy (Carlow); David Parle (Coollattin)
Zone - Dublin North & West
Jerome Clancy (Clontarf); Jack Dempsey (Malahide); Kevin Raftery (Forrest Little)
Zone - North & West Leinster
Michael Delany (Laytown & Bettystown); Brian McCormack (Castle Barna); John McGrath (Royal Tara)
Zone - Mid Leinster
Ger Ennis (Athy); Michael Geraghty (The Heritage); Willie O'Brien (Killeen)

Fintan Buckley (Hermitage); Barry Doyle (Carlow); Walter Skelton (The Island)

Auditors appointed  
Hayden Brown Chartered Accountants, 34 Grafton Street, Dublin 2.

Two Motions of Provincial Relevance were CARRIED.
Download here ​

Photo - Order of Merit Prize Winners

L-R Rob Brazill (Naas); Liam Abom (Edmondstown); Dylan Keating (Seapoint); Aiden O'Carroll (Powerscourt); Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy)
*Missing from photo Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) abroad

Photo credit Jenny Matthews/Cashman Photography www.cashmanphotography.ie