Munster Senior Interprovincial Team announced

​​Captain Phil Cooney announces team for Carlow

  • 19 June 2017
Munster have announced their team to take part in the senior interprovincials in Carlow next month.

Led by Irish Amateur Open Champion Peter O’Keeffe the Munster team of eight golfers will feature three new caps.  John Murphy is joined by James Sugrue and Jack Pierse as the new members of the team.  Both Murphy and Sugrue have represented Munster at Boys level and now make their debuts on the Senior side, while Pierse who is a member in both Lahinch and Portmarnock was in contention after finishing runner-up in the West of Ireland. Walker Cup panellist Robin Dawson is joined by Eanna Griffin who returns to the squad after missing out last year.  Geoff Lenehan and Andrew McCormack retain their place on the team.  Under the order of merit process O’Keeffe, Dawson, Murphy and Lenehan took the four automatic spots.  Munster Captain Phil Cooney cited recent form as a key element for the team as in O’Keeffe, Murphy, Sugrue and Griffin have all recorded recent wins.  The others to have been in form and it’s no coincidence that all eight golfers held the top eight spots in the Munster order of merit.  The team will face Leinster on the opening day of the competition which takes place in Carlow Golf Club from the 3rd – 5th July.

Munster Senior Interprovincial Team 2017
Robin Dawson (Tramore)
Eanna Griffin (Waterford)
Geoff Lenehan (Waterville/Portmarnock)
Andrew McCormack (Castletroy)
John Murphy (Kinsale)
Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)
Jack Pierse (Lahinch/Portmarnock)
James Sugrue (Mallow)
Non-Travelling Reserve Gary O’Flaherty (Cork)

Captain: Phil Cooney
Selectors:  John Carroll & Michael Coote
Team Manager: Pat Dunne
Coach: Fred Twomey