Limerick capture AIG Senior Cup Munster Title

​Second title for Limerick in three years​

  • 12 August 2017

Limerick won the AIG Senior Cup Munster Final with a dramatic win over Ballybunion late on Saturday evening.  Tralee was the venue for the AIG Cups and Shields Munster Finals and the Limerick team prevailed in two challenging matches.  They overcame Mallow in the semi-final when Justin Kehoe won on the 19th to set up a match with Ballybunion.  Owen O’Brien and Ciaran Vaughan won their matches to give Limerick a 2-0 lead but David O’Driscoll and Senan Carroll balanced the card for Ballybunion.  The resulted on the final match and it was Limerick’s Justin Kehoe who won the battle of endurance when he won on the 1​7th against Ballybunion’s Peter Sheehan. 


In​ today's other competition, hosts Tralee won the AIG Barton Shield Munster Final.  Jim Long, Chairman Munster Golf congratulated both winners and thanked Tralee for hosting the finals, and he also thanked Philip Coburn from AIG, title sponsors of the GUI Cups & Shields. 


AIG Senior Cup Munster Final Gallery (Golffile)​


The action in Tralee continues tomorrow with the semi-finals and final of the AIG Junior Cup.