Ballybunion win Boys Inter-Club Munster Final

Inaugural Winners​

  • 31 July 2018

Ballybunion are the inaugural winners of the Munster section of the Irish Boys Interclub Championship after they led the scoring in Tramore Golf Club.  The Kerry club had a two stroke winning margin over neighbours Tralee in a close final.  The stableford condition counts the best three cards from the team of five golfers.

The winning Ballybunion team was comprised of James O‘Callaghan, Edmond Healy, Sean Malone, Mark Galvin and Ewan McHale and the team manager was Ed Stack.  Tramore was in great condition for the final, with fast greens and firm fairways.  The wind blew hard for much of the day, testing all of the young golfers.  The leading golfer on the day was Tralee’s Lochlann Morrison, the 16 handicapper returned 44 points in testing conditions.  This was the first staging of the new competition which saw almost 50 teams compete at four provincial venues.  The top two teams from each section qualified for the provincial final.

Jim Long, Chairman Munster Golf congratulated Ballybunion on winning the inaugural title, and he thanked the Officers, staff and volunteers of Tramore Golf Club for hosting the finals.  He also thanked Kevin Murray and John Fennessy from Munster Golf for running the event.  Ballybunion will now return to Tramore to represent Munster at the national finals which take place at the end of September.

Gallery click here


1 Ballybunion 110

2 Tralee 108

3 Mahon 108

4 Waterford Castle 102

5 Kinsale 99

6 Lahinch 97

7 Ennis 97

8 Youghal 95​

CLICK HERE​ for all Championship details