Munster Golf Annual Delegates Meeting

​​​​​ Murphy and Deasy take Senior and Junior Awards​

  • 28 November 2018

Award Winners:
Munster Senior Golfer of the Year: John Murphy (Kinsale)
Munster Junior Player of the Year: Mel Deasy (Bantry Bay)
Munster Under 18 Order of Merit Winner: Jonathan Keane (Lahinch)
Munster Under 16 Order of Merit Winner: Patrick Naughton (Limerick)
Munster Under 14 Order of Merit Winner: Alex King (Faithlegg)

Motions of Provincial Relevance:
Change the Tournament Conditions Munster Country Clubs Cup: "That the number of players on a team be reduced from seven to five" (Proposed by Munster Golf )
This motion was defeated following the airing of views from several of the participating Clubs.

Chairman:  Jim Long, ( Monkstown) proposed by Monkstown Golf Club 
Hon Secretary:  Barry Lynch ( Raffeen Creek) proposed by  Raffeen Creek Golf Club
Hon Match & Handicapping Secretary:  Dave Prendergast (Cork) proposed by Cork Golf Club
Hon Treasurer: Peter English (Limerick) proposed by Limerick Golf Club

Provincial Council: Gordon Adair (Douglas), John Carroll John (Bandon), Phil Cooney (Lee Valley), Michael  Coote (Tralee), Tom Donnelly (Youghal), John  Fennessy (Clonmel), Kevin Glynn (Lahinch), Tom Keane (Ballybunion), Jim Lyne (Glengarriff), Sean Moran (Adare Manor), Michael P Murphy (Newcastle West), Kevin Murray (Tramore), Sean O'Leary (Mahon), Brian Punch (Castletroy), David Taylor (Muskerry), Liam Troy (Thurles).

Notices of Motion of National Relevance were discussed.  Results of the ballot will be announced at the conclusion of the four provincial delegates meetings on Friday 30 November.

One Governing Body
The Chairman of the GUI Board, Iggy O'Muircheartaigh and CEO Pat Finn gave a briefing on the Golf Ireland proposals.  It was highlighted that the proposed date for the EGM may move to February to facilitate finalisation of the Memorandum & Articles of Association.  Several Delegates raised queries which covered the area of volunteers, referees, the volume of competitions and the governance at local and national level.

The Chairman thanked everyone for attending the ADM and for their ongoing support for amateur golf in the province throughout 2018.