Munster Stroke Play Championship at Cork GC 4/5 May

​Holder Alan Fahy will return to Cork Golf Club next month  to defend title

  • 10 April 2019

Holder Alan Fahy will return to Cork Golf Club next month to defend his Munster Stroke Play title.  The Leinster golfer will be hoping to emulate the likes of Jimmy Bruen, Denis O’Sullivan and Liam Higgins as some of the elite group who won back to back titles in Cork.  The Dun Laoghaire golfer has fond memories of his win at the Munster Stroke Play last year.  “It was a big win for me last year as it was my first Mens win – out of underage competitions, which gave me a big boost of confidence going into the season.  That led me to probably having my strongest season yet, topped off with selection on the Leinster team.  Last year was my first time playing the event and I really liked the course.  The event ran really well and with a strong field it’s set to be a tough test this year.”  Fahy has had a busy start to the season, playing in the Portuguese and Spanish Amateurs and the R&A Scholars tournament as well as the West of Ireland more recently.  

The cut for the championship fell at +.04, an impressive mark given that several of the Irish panel are on international duty at the Lytham Trophy.  Robert Cannon, Rob Brazill, Keith Egan and Matthew McClean lead the way with a playing handicap of +2.9, with over 30 golfers playing off +2 or better.  This is the 14th staging of the championship which commenced in 2006; it incorporated the Cork Scratch Cup which started in 1923.  Conor Doran (Banbridge) was the inaugural winner when the 72 hole stroke play format was introduced.  The only golfer to retain the title in the current format is Niall Gorey, the Kildare native won three titles when he was based in Cork and he’s among five former winners hoping to secure a win.  Gorey, Fahy along with Cathal Butler, Pat Murray and Karl Bornemann (first reserve) will all be hoping engrave their name again on the famous Cork Scratch Cup.  The home club charge will be led by Gary O’Flaherty, Ian O’Rourke and Ian O’Flynn who have all challenged over the past few years; they will be looking to become the first home winner of the Munster Stroke Play.  The event is again sponsored by Ryan’s SuperValu; this is Liam Ryan’s third year sponsoring the championship.  The 72 hole event is a Bridgestone Order of Merit event and from the 75 starters following 2 rounds on the first day the top 39 plus ties will advance for the final 36 holes on Sunday.  The event is gets underway on Saturday 4th May.
Starting and Waiting List
For all further Championship details Click here​