Muskerry win Fred Daly Trophy Munster Final in Clonmel

​​Second win for Muskerry in three years

  • 19 August 2019

Pic: Muskerry celebrating their Fred Daly Trophy Munster Final win.  Photo: Niall O'Shea

Muskerry won the Fred Daly Trophy Munster Final in Clonmel today, beating Limerick after a great display of golf.  Playing in their third final in three years, the Cork side put the disappointment of last year behind them with a great win in Clonmel.  The Cork side took an early lead in the match, and Eoghan O’Shaughnessy & Stephen Riordan playing fifth and fourth respectively, put points on the board early for Muskerry.  Muskerry had the upper hand, Fionn Hickey and Jack Egan were leading and Zak Collins was all square as the matches moved through the back nine.  In the end it was Jack Egan who secured the winning point, giving Muskerry their second Munster pennant in three years. 

Earlier in the day Muskerry beat Dungarvan and Limerick beat Killarney in the semi-finals.  Muskerry now go on to the national finals in Castle Dargan in September.

Click here for pictures from the final/presentation

Click here for pictures from the semi-finals


Fred Daly Munster Final Results

Muskerry 4-1 Limerick

Fionn Hickey halved with Patrick Naughton called in, Jack Egan beat Lucas Lyons 4&3, Zak Collins halved with Patrick O’Donovan called in, Stephen Riordan beat Cian Gleeson 5&4, Eoghan O’Shaughnessy beat DJ O’Malley 6&5 ​

Semi-Final Results

Limerick 4-1 Killarney

Patrick Naughton beat Ryan Kelliher 4&3, Lucas Lyons beat Ewan McIndoe 4&3, Patrick O’Donovan halved with Ian Prendergast called in, Cian Gleeson halved with Cillian Courtney called in, DJ O’Malley beat Christian Casey 4&3


Muskerry 4-1 Dungarvan

Fionn Hickey beat Daniel Raher 6&5, Jack Egan beat Michael Troy 6&5, Zak Collins beat Barry Morrissey 6&5, Stephen Riordan halved with Sean O’Sullivan called in, Eoghan O’Shaughnessy halved with Ethan Raher called in