St Colmans retain Schools Title

​Double-Double for Cork sides as Colaiste Choilm retain senior title

  • 24 October 2019

Pic: Ben Carey, Ciaran Rice and Louie Roche who led St Colmans Fermoy to the Irish Schools Junior Championships Munster title in Castlemartyr. Picture: Niall O'Shea​

St Colmans are Munster Champions again, today they retained their Irish Schools Junior Championship in Castlemartyr.  The refixed final took place today with St Colmans, St Francis Rochestown and Abbey Community College all in action.  Ciaran Rice, Ben Carey and Louie Roche were the members of the winning team, and all played well in the favourable conditions.  Ciaran Rice led the way for St Colmans.  He was out in the first group and came back with 39 points.  Louie Roche added 33 points to give Colman’s a winning score of 72 points.  It was a great score for the 23 handicapper, his was playing off the maximum handicap of 15 allowed in the competition.  Off his full handicap he would have returned 41 points.

Abbey Community College were second on 68 points, with Alex Byrne, Shane Egan and Luke Cullen featuring on the team.  Jack Murphy, David O’Sullivan and Eoghan Power were on the St Francis Team who finished with 67 points.

Yesterday, Colaiste Choilm Ballincollig made it a double-double when they won the Schools Senior Championship in Killarney.  Colaiste Choilm and St Joesph’s Ballybunion had both won their semi-finals in Castlemartyr two weeks ago before rain forced the postponement of the final.  Both sides reconvened for the final, and it was the Cork side who won in a 3.5-1.5 win over St Josephs.

Both Colaiste Choilm and St Colman’s now go forward to represent Munster in the All Ireland finals which take place early next year.

Click here for photos​