Slieve Russell win at Portstewart

Slieve Russell defeated Lisburn to win the Fred Daly Trophy​

  • 05 September 2019

With the two Team Captains making no changes to the morning line up it was once again Josh Black from Lisburn and Slieve Russell's Ryan McNelis who led the charge and got the final underway, it was obvious from the outset that McNelis was still playing very well from his morning game when he secured the 1st point for Slieve Russell beating Black 3 and 2.

With the third and forth matches finishing early out on course, in the third match Slieve Russell's Dillon Beirnie won convincingly over Lisburn's Edward Rowe 5 and 4 and the forth match going to Lisburn's Mark Stewart with his winning margin being 4 and 3 over Slieve Russell's Jamie Hughes, the second match between Lisburn's Jack Shellard and Slieve Russell's Odhran Maguire went to the 18th hole were Odhran won by 2 holes which secured the winning point for Slieve Russell. 

The final match between Lisburn's Michael Rocks (Jnr) and Slieve Russell Oisin Rooney was called in as a half match.

Result Slieve Russell won 3.5. - 1.5

Following the conclusion of the final the presentation to the Winners and Runners Up was conducted by the Ulster Branch Chairman John White and Portstewart Club Captain Leo Diamond.

Lisburn runners up.jpg