Belvoir Park winners of the AIG Senior Cup in Ulster

​​Belvoir Park defeated Slieve Russell in the Ulster Final of the 2020 competition

  • 27 September 2020

​Photo: Winning Bevoir Park Team along with Donegal Captain Liam Cassidy and Brian Hutchinson Chairman GUI Ulster Branch - courtesy Alan Kelly GUI

Click here for match details in the Semi-Final / Final

Click here for details of the whole competition 

Having defeated Greenacres in the morning semi-final by winning 3 of their first 4 matches, Belvoir Park went onto the afternoon final in confident mood. Their team of 5 players boasting a combined handicap of +14 certainly held them in good stead. 

The other semi-final was a very close affair with Slieve Russell eventually defeating Warrenpoint 3/2, following a turnaround in the last match. Theo Coffey birdied the 18th hole with a spectacular second shot at the par 4 18th hole, leaving a simple tap in putt.  Ryan Gribbin (Warrenpoint) was not able to match this feat from 20 feet and the match went the way of Slieve Russell - so onto the final

In the final Belvoir Park were never behind​, the standout match was an 8/6 victory for Gareth Lappin in the opening encounter. When Simon Ward held on for a 2 hole victory in the second match, the writing was on the wall.

Odhran Magure (Slieve Russell) prevailed over Scott Jones to reduce the deficit but the AIG Senior Cup Ulster Section was decided when Edward Rowe​ & David Shaw both won their matches, at the same time, by 3/2 and 4/3 respectively.

Belvoir Park will now represent the province in the All-Ireland Finals also at Donegal in October

Thanks to competition convenor/co-ordinator Tony Cassidy and Billy McCaul, Michael Leonard & Trevor Lewers for their assistance with Rules & Live Scoring, on the course