Martin joint leader at British Open Amateur Stroke Play

​British Ladies Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship, Knock Golf Club

  • 01 September 2016

Caption: Mairead Martin (Killarney) - Photo Courtesy of Ronan Lang


Mairead Martin (Killarney) shot the joint best round of the day at the Ladies British Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship at Knock Golf Club yesterday. She got off to a fast start, recording birdies on the 3rd, 5th and 10th. She dropped her only shot of the day on the par 4 11th but came home in seven straight pars to sign for a two under 71. She holds the joint lead with Chloe Williams (Wales and Inci Mehmet (England).

Jessica Ross (Clandeboye) finished 4th last year and got her Championship off to a positive start after carding a level par round of 73. Not far behind are Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) on 74 and Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) with a 75. The remainder of the Irish contingent are further down the field with one qualifying round to go.

The team award trophy is contested by three players from each nation and Ireland's representatives are Niamh McSherry, Jessica Ross and Chloe Ryan. Ireland currently lie in second place, trailing England by three shots.

There is another 18 holes qualifying today, Thursday 1 September. A cut will then be made for the top 40 plus ties who will play the final 36 holes on Friday 2 September.

Irish Tee Times
08:41 Jenny Fawcett (Shandon Park)
09:03 Mairead Martin (Killarney)
09:14 Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
09:25 Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)
09:36 Louise Coffey (Malone), Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
09:58 Valerie Clancy (Killarney)
10:45 Niamh McSherry (Lurgan)
11:07 Victoria Craig (Royal Belfast)
11:18 Rachel Thompson (Cork), Gemma McCarthy (Clonmel)
12:13 Maeve Rooney (County Sligo), Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle), Hilary Hall (Enniscrone)
12:35 Aedin Murphy (Carlow), Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)

Irish Scores
T1st - 71 - Mairead Martin (Killarney)
T5th - 73 – Jessica Ross (Clandyboye)
T8th – 74 – Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)
T12th – 75 – Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
T34th – 79 – Victoria Craig (Royal Belfast), Valerie Clancy (Killarney)
T45th – 81 – Niamh McSherry (Lurgan), Aedin Murphy (Carlow), Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)
T51st – 82 - Rachel Thompson (Cork), Gemma McCarthy (Clonmel)
T53rd – 83 - Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)
T58th – 84 - Maeve Rooney (County Sligo)
T60th – 86 - Hilary Hall (Enniscrone), Jenny Fawcett (Shandon Park)
63rd – 88 – Louise Coffey (Malone)
RTD – Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)