Thirteen Irish at Troon

​​​The Helen Holm Scottish Women's Open Championship takes place at Royal Troon, April 21 - 23

  • 20 April 2017

​Caption: Maria Dunne (Skerries) (Photo: Pat Cashman)

Thirteen Irish have travelled to Royal Troon, host to the 2016 British Open, to compete at the Helen Holm Scottish Women’s Open Championship. 

The Championship is named after Helen Holm from Troon. Helen was a five-time Scottish Ladies Champion and her family still attend the event. The trophy is one of her chipping irons with her championship medals attached to it.

The first-ever Championship in 1973 was won by Belle Robertson (Scotland) who went on to win on two further occasions. Other notable winners are Solheim Cup players Catriona Matthew and Mel Reid who, in 2007, became only the second to win back-to-back titles. Olivia Winning (England), the 2013 champion, earned her second title in 2016, after beating the previous title holder Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) in a play-off, to deny the Irish woman two in a row. Olivia, who is unable to compete this year due to finishing her Freshman year in Arizona State University, will be keeping a close eye on her teammates across the Atlantic. 

A number of in-form Irish will tee up on the Portland Course for round one on Friday morning. Annabel Wilson (Lurgan), fresh from her win at the French U18 Cartier Trophy last week, is the earliest of the Irish contingent, teeing off at 7.30am. Paula Grant (Lisburn) and Sinead Sexton (Lahinch/Stirling) have also started the season positively with Grant claiming two Scratch Cups and Sexton dominating in the British University circuit so far in 2017. 2010 Helen Holm Champion Danielle McVeigh also makes a return to international amateur golf, she will get her Championship underway at 08.10 with Euphemie Rhodes (England) and Emma Boehly (France).

The Championship sees two rounds played on the Portland Course at Troon before a final round on the Old Course on Sunday. 

Round 1 Tee Times available HERE
Live Scoring available HERE (from 21 April)

Irish Players
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)
Danielle McVeigh (RCDL)
Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe/MU)
Sinead Sexton (Lahinch/Stirling)
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Ciara Casey (Hermitage)
Mairead Martin (Killarney)
Maria Dunne (Skerries)
Valerie Clancy (Killarney)
Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
Louise Coffey (Malone)
Mary Doyle (The Heath/MU)