Experienced teams to head to the European Team Championships

​​​​Announcement of the Irish Women's and Girls' Teams to play at the European Team Championships and European Young Masters in July

  • 17 May 2017

​Caption: Maria Dunne (Skerries) on the way to winning her first Irish Open Stroke Play title at the weekend (Photo: Jenny Matthews - Pat Cashman Photography)

Team Captains Danielle McVeigh and Gemma Butler will bring strong teams to the European Women and Girls’ Team Championships in July. 

Recent Irish Women’s Open Stroke Play Champion Maria Dunne (Skerries) alongside fellow Curtis Cup teammate Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) will lead an experienced team to Portugal for the Women’s Team Championships. Paula Grant (Lisburn), Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) and Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) who have all represented at European Team Championships in the past, will be joined by Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little) who will be making her Senior International debut.

Irish Women’s European Team
Montado, Portugal (July 11 – 15)
Maria Dunne (Skerries)
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little)
Olivia Mehaffey (Royal County Down Ladies)
Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
Sinead Sexton (Lahinch)

Non Travelling Reserve: Ciara Casey (Hermitage)

Team Captain: Danielle McVeigh (Royal County Down Ladies)
Team Coach: Donal Scott

French U18 Champion Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) alongside Valerie Clancy (Killarney), Mairead Martin (Kanturk) and Rachel Thompson (Cork) will return from the 2016 Girls’ European Team. They will be joined by Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden), who holed the winning putt at the Girls’ Home International matches on her Irish debut in last year, and Sara Byrne (Douglas) who has posted some very positive results thus far in 2017, most impressively a 3rd place finish at the prestigious Fairhaven Trophy earlier this month. “Chris and I are really looking forward to heading with this team to Finland in July,” said Team Captain Gemma Butler, “the girls have had some fantastic results so far this year and having won the second flight at the 2016 European Championships, we are excited to build on that result this time around.”

Irish Girls’ European Team
St. Laurence, Finland (July 11 – 15)
Sara Byrne (Douglas)
Valerie Clancy (Killarney)
Mairead Martin (Kanturk)
Rachel Thompson (Cork)
Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Non Travelling Reserve: Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)

Team Captain: Gemma Butler (Birr)
Team Coach: Chris Jelly

European Young Masters Team
Oslo, Norway (July 27 - 29)
Sara Byrne (Douglas)
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Team Manager: Irene Poynton (The Island)