Irish bow out at British Amateur

​​​The 115th Ladies British Open Amateur Championship takes place at Hillside from 26 - 30 June 2018.

  • 28 June 2018

​Caption: Jessica Ross (Clandeboye) (Credit: Fran Caffrey | Golffile)

The 115th Ladies British Open Amateur Championship takes place at Hillside from 26 - 30 June 2018.
The Championship will be contested by 144 competitors from 23 countries, including numerous players ranked in the top 100 of the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR).
Of the 38 players representing the Home Nations 6 are from Ireland. Curtis Cup teammates Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) and Paula Grant (Lisburn) ranked at 18 and 61 in the world respectively lead the bid for a second consecutive Irish win while 2017 Irish Girls’ Champion Mairead Martin (Kanturk), Annabel Wilson (Lurgan), Jessica Ross (Clandeboye) and Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) complete the sextet.
Over the past 125 years the ILGU has produced 8 Ladies British Amateur Open Champions. Most recently Leona Maguire won in 2017 and Stephanie Meadow won the title in 2012, ending the drought of 27 years since Lillian Behan had been crowned Champion in 1985.
Hillside Golf Club is located in Southport in the heart of England’s Golf Coast. It is situated adjacent to Royal Birkdale as well as Southport & Ainsdale, with Formby Golf Club a few miles down the road. A true championship links, Hillside is a regular venue for The Open Final Qualifying and has also hosted several prestigious championships including The Amateur Championship. The course meanders through majestic sandhills and tranquil pinewoods, and many of the holes have elevated tees with fantastic views over the Irish Sea.
For Scoring and Tournament Updates CLICK HERE​
Irish Entrants
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Mairead Martin (Kanurk)
Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL)
Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
Sinead Sexton (Lahinch)
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)