Irish teams ready to take on the World

​The teams to represent the ILGU at the World Amateur Team Championships and World Junior Championships have been announced

  • 31 July 2018

​Caption: Paula Grant (Lisburn) (Photo: Pat Cashman Photography)

The ILGU has today named the two Irish teams to compete at the World Amateur Team Championships at Carton House and the World Junior Golf Championships in Ottawa.

Carton House hotel and golf resort in Co Kildare will stage the Championships from 26 August-9 September while the town of Maynooth will be transformed into a golfing hub for two weeks with 10,000 spectators plus 1,000 players and officials attending.
The first shots will be struck on Wednesday 29 August when the women’s teams begin the battle for the Espirito Santo Trophy. Republic of Korea are defending champions following their victory in Mexico two years ago but Ireland will present a strong home challenge having finished third in 2016 to take the bronze medal for the first time.
Ireland’s chances of another successful championship are enhanced by the presence of both Olivia Mehaffey and Annabel Wilson who played alongside Leona Maguire in 2016. Paula Grant, who represented GB&I in this year’s Curtis Cup completes the trio.
Not only will fans get to see the best players in the world right now but they are sure to witness future stars of the game in action during the two weeks of competition at Carton House.

Meanwhile, Irish Women’s Close Champion Sara Byrne and Lauren Walsh, who made her Senior International debut this year will travel alongside Wilson to the World Junior Golf Championships in Ottawa. The event, which is by invite only, will pit 20 International Teams against one another at Camleot Golf & Country Club from September 9th to 14th.

World Amateur Team Championships – Espirito Santo Trophy
Carton House, 29 August – 1 September
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL)
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Team Captain: Danielle McVeigh
Team Coach: Donal Scott

World Junior Golf Championships
Ottawa, 9 – 14 September
Sara Byrne (Douglas)
Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Team Captain: Anne Ferguson