Highlights from historic ILGU AGM

​​The 11th Annual General Meeting of the ILGU Ltd. Took place on January 19th 2019 at the Red Cow Moran Hotel.

  • 21 January 2019

​Caption: Shelly Bennett, (Dromoland) celebrates the result of the Golf Ireland Vote at the 11th AGM of ILGU Ltd (Photo: Jenny Matthews)

The 11th Annual General Meeting of the ILGU Ltd. Took place on January 19th 2019 at the Red Cow Moran Hotel. While a special resolution was approved by ILGU member clubs, simultaneously the Golfing Union of Ireland passed a motion at a Special General Meeting to formally approve the establishment of Golf Ireland.

Brigid McCaw (Royal County Down Ladies) was confirmed as President and has taken over from Vonnie Noonan for the coming term. Brigid, a past Lady Captain of RCDL, was Chairman of the Ladies Golf Union (LGU) in 2009 and subsequently became LGU President in 2013. She has served as a volunteer of the ILGU for a number of years as a Rules Official, on the Ulster District Executive and as a Board Director.

Three new Board Directors were elected; Helen Egan (Tullamore), Fiona Scott (Dun Laoghaire) and Kate O’Meara (Bearna), and both Elaine Bradshaw (Kilkenny) and Roma English (Larne) were confirmed as Honorary Life Members of the ILGU following their contribution to golf and to the ILGU.

Full presentation available ILGU AGM Jan 2019.pptx

Caption: ILGU President 2017 - 2018 Vonnie Noonan presents Brigid McCaw with the Presidents pin (Photo: Jenny Matthews)

Confirm the Election of ILGU President
Brigid McCaw (Royal County Down Ladies)

Confirm the Election of Directors
Mid Leinster District: Helen Egan (Tullamore)
Connacht District: Kate O’Meara (Bearna)
East Leinster District: Fiona Scott (Dun Laoghaire)

Confirmed as Honorary Life Members of the ILGU
​Elaine Bradshaw (Kilkenny)
Roma English (Larne)

2018 Order of Merit Awards
Women’s – Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Girls’ – Sara Byrne (Douglas)
Seniors’ – Gertie McMullen (The Island)

Golf Ireland Vote Results
GUI RESULT 94% in favour of the proposal
ILGU RESULT 100% in favour of the proposal

Highlights from the Annual Report (Full Report Available HERE – must be logged into Golfnet to view)

International Achievements
- Ireland hosts the World Amateur Team Championships at Carton House 
- Olivia Mehaffey and Paula Grant represent GB&I at the Curtis Cup
- Irish Senior’s Team crowned Home International Champions
- Leona and Lisa Maguire turn Professional with Leona securing full LET Status for 2019
- Stephanie Meadow named Irish Golf Writers Professional of the Year – the first female to win the award

National Achievements
- The ILGU celebrates 125 years of Women’s Golf in Ireland
- Kate Lanigan (Hermitage), Sara Byrne (Douglas) and Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) claim the Irish Girls’, Women’s and Senior’s Close titles respectively
- Kajsa Arwefjall (Sweden), Hannah McCook (Scotland) and Beatriz Arenas (Guatemala) win the Irish Open Stroke Play titles
- Ulster and Leinster win the Ladies and Girls’ Interprovincial Matches

Inter-Club Golf
2018 AIG Ladies Cups and Shields
- Senior Foursomes – Laytown & Bettystown
- Junior Foursomes – Courtown
- Junior Cup – Rathfarnham
- Intermediate Cup – Douglas
- Minor Cup – Monkstown
- Challenge Cup – Smurfit

2018 Revive Active Ladies Fourball
- National Champions – Dun Laoghaire

2018 All-Ireland Senior Cup
- National Champions – Lahinch

2018 All-Ireland Girls’ Inter-Club
-       National Champions - Holywood

Membership Trends
- Adult female membership increased by 1% in 2018 while girls membership grew by 0.7%
- ILGU Supports the R&A Women in Golf Charter and the 20x20 #CantSeeCantBe Initiative