Irish Close hosting duties for Woodbrook, Naas and Galway

​The Irish Women's, Girls' and Senior's Close Championships will be hosted by Woodbrook, Galway and Naas respectively

  • 07 May 2019

​Caption: 2018 Irish Women's Close Champion Sara Byrne (Douglas) (Image: Pat Cashman)

The prestigious Irish Women’s, Girls’ and Seniors Close Championships will this year be hosted by Woodbrook, Galway and Naas Golf Clubs.

Situated just outside Bray, Woodbrook will welcome Ireland’s elite as it hosts the Irish Women’s Close Championship for the first time. The club is no stranger to hosting big events in their 98 year history and their annual Scratch Cup has boasted winning names such as Lauren Walsh, Louise Coffey and Maria Dunne in recent years.  Additionally, Woodbrook member Claire Hourihane was Irish Champion on five occasions between 1893 and 1991. The 2019 Irish Women’s Close will run from June 20 - 23.

The Irish Senior Women’s Close will head to Naas Golf Club, Co. Kildare. Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna) will be aiming for three-in-a-row but no doubt a host of the 2018 successful Irish Home International team will also be in contention as the event gets underway from July 2 - 5. 

Finally, the Irish Girls’ Close Championship returns to the Galway area for the first time since 2015 when Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) beat Lisa O’Shea (Shannon) 4&3 in the final at Galway Bay. Kate Lanigan (Hermitage) who was crowned champion at Clandeboye last year will return again to defend her title and the cream of Irish Girls golf will descend on the Salthill course from 16 – 19 July.

To view all information about the upcoming Irish Close Championships, including online entry, click on the links below;

Irish Women’s Close Championship (NOW CLOSED)
Woodbrook Golf Club, 20 - 23 June 2019
Entry fee: €50
Handicap limit: 12
Closing Date for Entries: 31 May at 23.30

Naas Golf Club, 2 - 5 July 2019
Entry fee: €50
Handicap limit: 15
Age: 50 +
Closing Date for Entries: 14 June at 23.30

Galway Golf Club, 16 – 19 July 2019
Entry fee: €35
Handicap limit: 18
Age: Under 18 on 1/1/2019
Closing Date for Entries: 28 June at 23.30