Royal County Down prepares to host Women's Amateur

Seven Irish among 144 international elite at the Women's Amateur Championship from June 11 - 15

  • 10 June 2019

​Caption: Member of Royal County Down and Lisburn Golf Clubs Paula Grant - Image by Golffile

Pre-Tournament Release (4th June 2019)
In one week's time the116th Women’s Amateur Championship will take place at Royal County Down Golf Club, in the town of Newcastle, Co. Down.

Founded in 1889, Royal County Down Golf Club has witnessed many prestigious championships including the Walker Cup (2007), the Curtis Cup (1968), two Amateur Championships, the Home Internationals on three occasions and, on no fewer than eight occasions, The Women’s Amateur Championship. Portstewart Golf Club was the last club to host the Women’s Amateur in 2015 where Celine Boutier (France) was the eventual winner. 

Contested by 144 competitors from 26 countries, including numerous players ranked in the top 100 of the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR), the Women’s Amateur Champion will be crowned following 36-holes of stroke play qualifying and five rounds of matchplay.

Of the 33 players representing the Home Nations, seven are from Ireland; Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe), Sara Byrne (Douglas), Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle), Aine Donegan (Woodstock), Anna Foster (Elm Park), Paula Grant (Lisburn) and Mairead Martin (Kanturk). 

Both Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) and Julie McCarthy (Forest Little) will be unavailable to play at Royal County Down for very differing reasons. Having travelled home last week from a superb semester representing Arizona State University, Mehaffey slipped while on a hike with her family and fractured a bone in her hand meaning she has had to step aside for the Amateur, The Vagliano Trophy and more likely than not, the European Team Championships in July. 

Meanwhile, McCarthy, who was also selected for the GB&I Vagliano Trophy team, will be representing the International side at the Palmer Cup from June 7 – 9 and will not be home from The Alotian Club in time to tee it up at The Women’s Amateur. High Performance Panellists Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) and Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) are also unavailable due to exam commitments.
Leonie Harm Trophy 2.jpg
Caption: Leonie Harm became the first German to win the Women's Amateur last year at Hillside and will defend her title this year at RCD - Image courtesy of The R&A

The ILGU has produced eight Women’s Amateur Championships in the events history. Most recently Leona Maguire won in 2017, five years after Stephanie Meadow won the title in 2012 ending the drought of 27 years since Lillian Behan had been crowned Champion in 1985.

Tournament Information CLICK HERE

Confirmed Ireland Entrants ​
Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
Sara Byrne (Douglas)
Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)
Aine Donegan (Lahinch)
Anna Foster (Elm Park)
Paula Grant (Lisburn)
Mairead Martin (Kanurk)

Ireland Reserves in order:
Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth)
Meadhbh Doyle (Portarlington)
Niamh McSherry (Lurgan)
Chloe Ryan (Castletroy)
Georgia Carr
Maeve Cummins (Lurgan)
Niamh Ward (Lurgan)​