Lahinch defend All-Ireland Senior Cup

​In a repeat of the Munster final, the defending Champions overcame the home team Killarney in the All-Ireland Senior Cup Final

  • 24 August 2019

Caption: Lahinch win second consecutive Senior Cup Final at Killarney | Jenny Matthews, Cashman Photography

Lahinch are All-Ireland Senior Cup Champions for the second consecutive year as they defeated the home favourites Killarney on the Killeen Course this morning. 

Laytown & Bettystown, Woodbrook, Roscommon, Kilkenny, Lurgan and Royal County Down Ladies suffered defeats in the quarter and semi-final matches held yesterday to leave the last two All-Ireland Champions to duel for this year’s title. 

The Lahinch team, despite missing Girls’ International Aine Donegan, boasted three of the winning Munster Women’s Interprovincial squad in Sinead Sexton, Aideen Walsh and Sarah Cunningham. However, on home ground, this wouldn’t phase Killarney who themselves brought a wealth of experienced players.

Mairead Martin narrowly overcame her good friend and foursomes partner Annabel Wilson in the semi-final and was first out for the Killarney team. Chloe Ryan returned to the Irish Home International set-up after a year break due to studies and would be Martin’s counterpart. A 3&2 victory for Ryan sent a message back through the matches as Sexton also banked a point against Kelly Brotherton shortly afterwards.

Tracy Eakin did get the better of Aideen Walsh but when Girls’ Interprovincial Niamh O’Dwyer beat Killarney’s Lady Captain Mary Sheehy with an eagle on the 16th, their title as 2019 All-Ireland Senior Cup Champions was confirmed. 

‘Everyone is so happy to win again this year,’ said Ryan who will miss tonight’s celebrations to travel back to London where she is training to become a Solicitor. ‘Myself and Mairead had a great match today, we’d 16 birdies between us. I wasn’t part of the team who won last year but I’ve been a member of Lahinch since I was 16 so I am delighted to have played this year and help the team get over the line.’

Quarter Finals
Lahinch (4) Laytown & Bettystown (1) (Lahinch name first)
Chloe Ryan beat Carol Wickham 3&2; Sinead Sexton halved with Ellie Metcalfe (called-in); Aideen Wash beat Rachel Taylor 6&5; Niamh O’Dwyer beat Barbara Cooney 5&4; Sarah Cunningham halved with Aimee Wickham (called-in)

Woodbrook (4.5) Roscommon (0.5) (Woodbrook names first)
Sue Phillips beat Ruth Lennon 2&1; Lauren Murray halved with Blaithin O’Brien (called-in); Nicola Coffey beat Olivia Costello 5&4; Siobhan McCartan beat Rosemary O’Brien 8&6; Caroline Hewitt beat Mary Lalor 6&5

Kilkenny (0) Killarney (5) (Kilkenny names first)
Mary Dowling lost to Mairead Martin 6&4; Jan Browne lost to Kelly Brotherton 4&2; Mary Leahy-Browne lost to Tracy Eakin 6&5; Sarah Molloy lost to Mary Sheehy 4&3; Anne Smee lost to Corrina Griffin 6&4

Royal County Down Ladies (2) Lurgan (3) (RCDL name first)
Paula Grant lost to Annabel Wilson 5&4; Katie Poots lost to Niamh Ward 5&4; Molly O’Hara beat Cara Murphy 2&1; Kate Evans lost to Aoife Browne 1 hole; Anita McCaw beat Fiona McGrady 4&3

Semi Finals
Lahinch (4.5) Woodbrook (0.5) (Lahinch names first)
Chloe Ryan beat Sue Phillips 3&1; Sinead Sexton beat Lauren Murray 5&4; Aideen Walsh beat Nicola Coffey 2&1; Niamh O’Dwyer halved with Siobhan McCartan (called-in); Sarah Cunningham beat Caroline Hewitt 4&3

Killarney (4) Lurgan (1) (Killarney names first)
Mairead Martin beat Annabel Wilson 19th; Kelly Brotherton lost to Niamh Ward 1 hole; Tracy Eakin beat Cara Murphy 4&3; Mary Sheehy beat Aoife Brown 7&6; Corrina Griffin beat Christine Hagan 6&4

Lahinch (3.5) Killarney (1.5) (Lahinch names first)
Chloe Ryan beat Mairead Martin 3&2; Sinead Sexton beat Kelly Brotherton 5&4; Aideen Walsh lost to Tracy Eakin 3&2; Niamh O’Dwyer beat Mary Sheehy 4&2; Sarah Cunningham halved with Corrina Griffin (called-in)



Caption: Images from Killarney for the All-Ireland Senior Cup Final | Jenny Matthews, Cashman Photography